JellyPages.com

Saturday, 31 January 2015

Stacking The Shelves #24


Welcome to Stacking The Shelves! Stacking the Shelves is hosted by Tynga Reviews and is a meme to share those books, both print and e-book, that have been added to your shelves in the last week/s.

Up until Thursday this week, I wasn't sure there would be a Stacking The Shelves this week as though I was expecting a few books to arrive, the post has been disappointingly bare. On e-book front however, from Thursday, things picked up and I ended up with some really awesome ARCs to read and review.

That being said, my week on the blog has been extremely productive, with two reviews posted and a further 2 scheduled, 4 books read and a post for virtually every day this week which hasn't happened in a while :-)



Review - E-ARCs( Netgalley)

I am review the first book in the below series in 2013 and recently reposted that review here and I bought book 2 in 2014 so I was extremely glad to be approved for book 3 this week by Penguin Teen Australia.



Kin (Tales of Beauty & Madness #3) by Lili St. Crow



Ruby deVarre is Rootkin – the granddaughter of the most revered clanmother in all of New Haven.

For Kin, nothing comes before family, and it's about time for Ruby to start thinking about settling down and starting one of her own. But settling down is the farthest thing from wild-child Ruby's mind. All she wants to do is drive fast with her friends and run free through the woods with Hunter and Thorne, two of her favorite boykin. But Ruby knows that if she keeps disobeying her Gran's wishes, she might end up beign Collared – the worst punishment and disgrace in the kin community.

Then Gran announces that they'll be hosting a guest – a handsome boy named Conrad Tiercey from a kin family across the Waste. Ruby accompanies Gran to the train station, and sparks fly immediately. Conrad is gorgeous. Maybe settling down with someone like him wouldn't be so bad . . .

But as Ruby gets to know Conrad more, she starts to realise something's...off. First, he snaps at her for being late. Then, she talks on the phone with a boytoy, and he grabs her arm so hard it bruises. Just when she feels ready to walk away, Conrad apologises – she's so beautiful and he just loves her so much, is all – and Ruby forgives him, chalking it all up to passion. She stays with Conrad, and hides everything from her friends Cami and Ellie, from whom she's becoming increasingly distant.

Then the murders start. First, heartbreakingly, it's Hunter – found dead in the woods, an axe at his side. Then three girls disappear, one by one, all of them with red hair like Ruby's, who eventually turn up dead all over New Haven. And then the villain strikes Gran. She's not dead, but she's been dangerously poisoned and admitted to hospital in a coma.

Weaker than ever and rudderless without her friends, Ruby must find the strength to confront Conrad, whom she now suspects more than ever. But he's got a plan of his own, and his secrets go deeper than she could have ever imagined . . .

Just on the heels of her mesmerising renditions of Snow White and Cinderella, New York Times bestselling author Lili St. Crow completes the Tales of Beauty and Madness trilogy with this enchantingly dark, beautifully suspenseful update of Little Red Riding Hood.

This next e-Arc is actually the first four episodes of a serial and  comes courtesy of Stone Ink Press

The naturals(Eps 1 - 4) by  ,   


A small town full of secrets. A coming darkness. Teens with supernatural abilities. Think you know the story? Think again.

As Summer ends, the students at Silverwood High are getting ready to go back to school and resume their normal, everyday lives. Too bad "normal" is no longer an option. When these teens get their very first tastes of what destiny has in store, will they embrace that destiny... or flee from it? Will they be selfless... or ruthless? Will they master their abilities... or will their abilities master them?

This is their awakening, the first step of an epic journey. But it's only the beginning of something bigger than they could ever imagine.

The sleepy little town of Silverwood is about to wake up.






Review - E-ARC (Edelweiss)

Particularly excited about this one.  I started reading it this morning and I am hooked!



Red Queen (Red Queen Trilogy #1) by Victoria Aveyard



A thrilling new fantasy trilogy for fans of DIVERGENT and THE HUNGER GAMES.

This is a world divided by blood – red or silver.

The poverty-stricken Reds are commoners, living in the shadow of the Silvers, elite warriors with god-like powers.

To Mare Barrow, a 17-year-old Red girl from the Stilts, it looks like nothing will ever change.

Then Mare finds herself working at the Silver palace, in the midst of those she hates the most. She quickly discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy Silver control.



Review - e-ARC (Blog Tour)


I am taking part in a blog tour for this next book in march.  My post date is 2nd March so don't forget to come back and see what I thought.



Gathering Frost (Once Upon A Curse #1) by Kaitlyn Davis
Goodreads | Amazon  



Will his kiss be enough to revive her frozen heart?

Once Upon A Time meets La Femme Nikita in GATHERING FROST, a dystopian romance from bestselling author Kaitlyn Davis that reimagines the classic fairy tale of Sleeping Beauty.

Jade was only a little girl when the earthquake struck. Before her eyes, half of New York City disappeared, replaced by a village that seemed torn out of a storybook. Horses and carriages. Cobblestone streets. A towering castle. And, above all, a queen with the magical ability to strip emotions away.

Ten years later and Jade has forgotten what it is to feel, to care...even to love. Working as a member of the queen's guard, she spends most of her time on the city wall staring at the crumbling skyscrapers of old New York. But everything changes when the queen's runaway son, Prince Asher, returns. Jade is tasked with an unusual mission--to let the Prince capture her, to make him trust her, and then to betray his secrets to the crown. In return, she'll earn her freedom. But life outside the queen's realm is more than Jade bargained for. Under Asher's relentless taunts, her blood begins to boil. Under his piercing gaze, her heart begins to flutter. And the more her icy soul begins to thaw, the more Jade comes to question everything she's ever known--and, more importantly, whose side she's really on.







So what did you add to your shelves this week?




5 comments:

  1. Red Queen was really good! I wasn't able to get into the Tale of Beauty and Madness books. I hope you enjoy all your new books!

    New Follower :D
    Amber @ The Book Bratz
    My Stacking the Shelves

    ReplyDelete
  2. Red Queen is really popular for the past few weeks. I do hope you enjoy reading it.
    bibliophilic madness waiting on wednesday

    ReplyDelete
  3. I am so jealous of Red Queen! It's my most anticipated book of 2015!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Great haul! Red Queen is one that I can't wait to read. Everyone seems to love it! I hope you enjoy your books. :)
    Krystianna @ Downright Dystopian

    ReplyDelete
  5. Every one has The Red Queen. I'm thinking may be I should add it to my never ending TBR pile! Nice haul - hope you enjoy them! Here's ours if you're interested: BiblioJunkies Happy reading! ~ Bel

    ReplyDelete