JellyPages.com

Thursday, 28 April 2016

Review: Dreamology by Lucy Keating

Title: Dreamology
Author: Lucy Keating
Published: 12 April 2016
Publisher: Harper Teen
Source: Harper Teen via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review
Reviewed: Sapphired Dragon
Rating: *****

My Review:

I absolutely adored this story! From the moment I started the first chapter and felt the quirkiness of Alice's voice, I was knew this book was going to be warm magical read..

I originally picked it up because the description sound very unique and original and I thought whole premise of two people growing up together and falling in love in their dreams, only to suddenly find out that not only was the other person real but also seeming nothing like their dream self incredibly intriguing and I was eager to see where this would lead.

What it lead to was a uniquely original and captivating story that was a delicious melding of quirky, funny and sweet. I loved where Ms Keating took this story and the vivid, colourful characters she created to deliver it. I loved the main character Alice, sweet yet lonely with her best friend Sophie, her bull dog Jerry and her dreamboy Max. I loved Oliver with this irrepressible humour and attitude, celeste, 'the girlfriend' yet the all around nice person and max, the boy who despite his feelings about his dream girl Alice, has a whole other world that Alice is not a part of.

Ms Keating bubbly writing style, with seemingly random yet perfectly placed scientific facts and fragments of Alice's dreams peppered through the story line perfectly balances some of the more serious themes in this book such as abandonment and death. She has created a story with characters the reader can emotionally connect to and live the story with them. We see the story through the eyes of Alice, and Ms Keating had me feeling the wonder, the adventure, the heart break and the hard truths right along with Alice.

I loved the fact that I had no idea where the story was going to lead, that I loved every moment of the journey and was immensely satisfied with the place the story finished.

This was definitely one of my most enjoyable reads of 2016 and I give this book 5 stars!
Sapphired Dragon xx





About The Book:



Dreamology by Lucy Keating










A debut novel with the vibrantly unconventional romance of Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind and the sweetness and heart of Jenny Han

For as long as Alice can remember, she has dreamed of Max. Every night since they were kids, they've met in their dreams, traveled the world, and fallen deliriously, hopelessly in love. Max is the boy of her dreams—and only her dreams. Because he doesn’t exist in real life.

Then Alice walks into class on her first day at a new school, and there he is. It turns out, though, that Real Max is nothing like Dream Max, and getting to know each other in reality isn’t as perfect as Alice always hoped—especially when their dreams start to bleed troublingly into their waking hours. Soon, Alice and Max question not just their relationship, but their own sanity. The pair realize that the only way to fix things might be to put an end to a lifetime of dreaming about each other. But when you fall in love in your dreams, can reality ever be enough?

Whimsical, romantic, heartbreaking, and utterly original, Lucy Keating’s debut novel will win readers’ hearts, and is perfect for fans of Jennifer E. Smith and Stephanie Perkins.


 
 
 
     

No comments:

Post a Comment