JellyPages.com

Monday, 4 May 2015

Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses By Sarah J Maas

Title: A Court of Thorns and Roses
Author: Sarah J Maas
Published: 1 May2015 
Source:Bloomsbury Sydney in return for an honest review
Reviewed: Sapphired Dragon
Rating: ****

My Review:
Sarah J Maas as has created another great series!  A Court of Thrones and Roses is a dark captivating re-imagining of Beauty and the Beast tale set in a forbidding and dangerous world where the Faerie have created fear and loathing  in the human folk that live to the south of their borders.

Given how much I adore the Throne of Glass series, I was pretty sure I was going to love this too and I wasn't mistaken. This is a totally different tale from Ms Maas' previous series with the only thing in common being a strong female heroine.

Feyre, has been hunting to put food on her families table since her mother died and her father lost the family's fortune. As close as they are to the wall that separates the dangerous faeries from human civilisation, Feyre has grown up on stories of Faerie brutality from the wars and attacks on townships so when given the opportunity to kill one of these hated Faerie, Feyre doesn't hesitate. However thanks to the treaty in place, it means she is now destined to spend the rest her days in Faerie lands, her life in exchange for the one she took.

I liked that once again, Ms Maas has given us a strong and capable female character. One who is willing to do what ever it takes to protect her family and keep them alive, even if they don't necessarily seem grateful. She always seems to put them first, at the expense of her life and her dreams but we also get to see her develop as she learns more about the dangerous and foreign land she has found her self in and herself in the process. I also loved Tamlyn. From the beginning he had that air of protectiveness, strength and power and the more I got to read and know the character, the more I found to like.

I loved the twists and turns in this book, the fact that noting was exactly as it seemed at first and both Feyre and Tamlyn are forced to reconsider what they had previously considered their truths as they learn more about each other and each other's heritage.

But more than anything, i loved the dark and dangerous faerie world Ms Maas has created,with its rich, captivating imagery that draws you in and makes you want to see and know more and a story that slowly builds, surrounding and engulfing you with thread after thread and layer after layer, so that when you finally emerge at the other end, you are satisfied and sated that you have experienced a good tale.

A great start to a new series. I loved it and give it 4 stars!

Sapphired Dragon xx



About The Book:

A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses  #1) by Sarah J Maas


A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

No comments:

Post a Comment