JellyPages.com

Saturday, 7 February 2015

Stacking the Shelves #25


Welcome to Stacking The Shelves! Stacking the Shelves is hosted by Tynga Reviews and is a meme to share those books, both print and e-book, that have been added to your shelves in the last week/s.

So all the parcels that didn't arrive last week, DID arrive this week with a parcel nearly every day from Monday through Friday.  I am expecting a couple more next week but then that will probably be it for a little while.  However in general this was a week for the print book rather than the e-book


Review - Print ARCs (with thanks to Bloomsbury Sydney)

Written by the author of the Throne of Glass series, this book looks like it is going to be an awesome read.



A Court of Thrones and Roses (A Court of Thrones and Roses #1) by Sarah J Maas




A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!







Purchased - Print Books

As mentioned earlier, lots of pretties arrived this week :-)






I actually got this next book in e-book version for christmas but it is the kind of series with covers made for hard cover editions so I ordered the first in the series a couple of weeks ago and it arrived this week :-)


Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles #1) by Marissa Meyer




Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl.

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.


I was so excited to receive this pre-order this week. It is the last book in a series by one of my most favourite authors, Traci Harding, and I raved about it a couple of weeks ago on this Waiting For Wednesday Post. Needless to say I cannot wait to read this!



AWOL (The Timekeeper Trilogy #3) by Traci Harding



Fate is open to intervention.

The timekeepers return to the Astro-Marine Institute Explorer (AIME) to stop their nemesis interfering with the departure of an otherworldly being currently residing on Oceane. They agree to regroup one week before the interference is due to take place - but one team member seems to be taking an unofficial detour.

An opportunity to prevent the incident altogether arises four years before the rendezvous. But to revisit this instance would be seen as a betrayal to many of the timekeepers and set them at war with one another.

To end all the ancient curses at the route of the disputes between star systems, to pave the way for psychic freedom and achieve AMIE's primary objective, one team member will break the principal rule of Timekeeping and quantum jump into their history alone.
I fell in love with this next hard cover edition when it was released by PenguinTeen Australia recently and knew I wanted to own this series in this hard cover edition. I started with Lola as I have not yet read it and will order Anna and the French Kiss later this year. Isla and the Happoly Ever After is not yet available in this edition so I will have to wait till later in the year to get it also.

Lola and the Boy next Door (Anna and the French Kiss #2) by Stephanie Perkins




Budding designer Lola Nolan doesn't believe in fashion... she believes in costume. The more expressive the outfit – the more sparkly, more wild – the better. And life is pretty close to perfect for Lola, especially with her hot rocker boyfriend.

That is, until the Bell twins, Calliope and Cricket return to the neighbourhood and unearth a past of hurt that Lola thought was long buried. So when talented inventor Cricket steps out from his twin sister's shadow and back into Lola's life, she must finally face up to a lifetime of feelings for the boy next door. Could the boy from Lola's past be the love of her future?

Fall in love with the international bestseller from queen of young adult fiction, Stephanie Perkins.

So yeah, I am not so good at the whole waiting thing so when I found I had some extra credit on my Dymocks card, I used it to pick this up. It's the paperback edition but it means I will be ready to read it once I finish Lola :-)

Isla and the Happily Ever After (Anna and the French Kiss #3) by Stephanie Perkins


Love ignites in the City That Never Sleeps, but can it last?

Hopeless romantic Isla has had a crush on introspective cartoonist Josh since their first year at the School of America in Paris. And after a chance encounter in Manhattan over the summer, romance might be closer than Isla imagined. But as they begin their senior year back in France, Isla and Josh are forced to confront the challenges every young couple must face, including family drama, uncertainty about their college futures, and the very real possibility of being apart.

Featuring cameos from fan-favorites Anna, Étienne, Lola, and Cricket, this sweet and sexy story of true love—set against the stunning backdrops of New York City, Paris, and Barcelona—is a swoonworthy conclusion to Stephanie Perkins’s beloved series.

Purchased - E-Book/Audio Book


I bought my first audio book this week.  I generally have never really been a fan of the audio book as my listening attention span was all but non existent but this first book was on special this week and then the whispersync audible version was just a couple more dollars to get so i figured I would give it a try to listen to at work.

As it seemed to work quite well, I got a couple more to go with e-books I already had and to further the series :-)


The Assassin's Blade (Throne of Glass #0.1-0.5) by Sarah J Maas
Goodreads | Amazon  




Celaena Sardothien is her kingdom's most feared assassin. Though she works for the powerful and ruthless Assassin's Guild, Celaena yields to no one and trusts only her fellow killer for hire, Sam.
When Celaena's scheming master, Arobynn Hamel, dispatches her on missions that take her from remote islands to hostile deserts, she finds herself acting independently of his wishes - and questioning her own allegiance. Along the way, she makes friends and enemies alike, and discovers that she feels far more for Sam than just friendship. But by defying Arobynn's orders, Celaena risks unimaginable punishment, and with Sam by her side, he is in danger, too. They will have to risk it all if they hope to escape Arobynn's clutches - and if they fail, they'll lose not just a chance at freedom, but their lives…

A prequel to Throne of Glass, this collection of five novellas offers listeners a deeper look into the history of this cunning assassin and her enthralling - and deadly - world.

Included in this volume:
The Assassin and the Pirate Lord
The Assassin and the Healer
The Assassin and the Desert
The Assassin and the Underworld
The Assassin and the Empire


Throne of Glass  (Throne of Glass #1) by Sarah J Maas
Goodreads | Amazon  




Meet Celaena Sardothien.
Beautiful. Deadly. Destined for greatness.

In the dark, filthy salt mines of Endovier, an eighteen-year-old girl is serving a life sentence. She is a trained assassin, the best of her kind, but she made a fatal mistake: she got caught.

Young Captain Westfall offers her a deal: her freedom in return for one huge sacrifice. Celaena must represent the prince in a to-the-death tournament—fighting the most gifted thieves and assassins in the land. Live or die, Celaena will be free. Win or lose, she is about to discover her true destiny. But will her assassin’s heart be melted?


Crown of Midnight (Throne of Glass #2) by Sarah J Maas
Goodreads | Amazon  




Will his kiss be enough to revive her frozen heart?

"A line that should never be crossed is about to be breached.

It puts this entire castle in jeopardy—and the life of your friend."

From the throne of glass rules a king with a fist of iron and a soul as black as pitch. Assassin Celaena Sardothien won a brutal contest to become his Champion. Yet Celaena is far from loyal to the crown. She hides her secret vigilantly; she knows that the man she serves is bent on evil.

Keeping up the deadly charade becomes increasingly difficult when Celaena realizes she is not the only one seeking justice. As she tries to untangle the mysteries buried deep within the glass castle, her closest relationships suffer. It seems no one is above questioning her allegiances—not the Crown Prince Dorian; not Chaol, the Captain of the Guard; not even her best friend, Nehemia, a foreign princess with a rebel heart.

Then one terrible night, the secrets they have all been keeping lead to an unspeakable tragedy. As Celaena's world shatters, she will be forced to give up the very thing most precious to her and decide once and for all where her true loyalties lie...and whom she is ultimately willing to fight for.

Library


So despite my insanely long TBR list for february, apparently I am under the impression I am going to read a whole heap of library books as well this month though looking at what i have managed to borrow this week, I really would love to somehow squeeze them in :-)







The Raven Boys(The Raven Cycle #1) by Maggie Stiefvater
Goodreads Book Depository | Amazon | Booktopia

City of Heavenly Fire (The Mortal Instruments #6) by Cassandra Clare
Goodreads Book Depository | Amazon | Booktopia

Cress (The Lunar Chronicles #3) by Marissa Meyer
Goodreads Book Depository | Amazon | Booktopia

A Thousand Pieces of You(Firebird #1) by Claudia Gray
Goodreads Book Depository | Amazon | Booktopia

Spirit ( Elemental #3) by Brigid Kemmerer
Goodreads Book Depository | Amazon | Booktopia

Earthquake(earthbound #2) by Aprilynne Pike


So what did you add to your shelves this week?




3 comments:

  1. Great haul! Very cool that you got A Court of Thorn and Roses, as it sounds awesome! I've only read Cinder and Throne of Glass, so need to work on catching up with both of these series. Happy reading!

    Here's My haul

    ReplyDelete
  2. It seems lot of people are getting ACOTAR!! Enjoy your stack of books :)

    MY STS
    ~Karina @ Watcha Reading

    ReplyDelete
  3. Ha, I do the same with library books. I juuust went through them all and made myself be realistic about it.

    ReplyDelete