JellyPages.com

Monday, 9 September 2013

It's Monday! What Are you Reading?



Welcome to my first It's Monday!  What Are You Reading? a weekly meme hosted by A Book Journey where we talk about the books that we are reading and have read this week.

Regular readers of my blog may have noticed that my blog has been a little light these last couple of weeks.  Combining full time work with full time motherhood seems to have taken its toll recently and unfortunately it is my blog that has suffered. However even though it has not been reflected here, I have actually been doing quite a bit of reading. So hopefully I can get some of my reviews up over the next few weeks.

First up, just finished Origin (Lux #4) by Jennifer Armentrout on the weekend. This came out August 27 and was delivered to my kindle the same day but I had just started Sweet Peril by Wendy Higgins when I received it so it had to wait a week to be read. I loved it but don't like that I have to wait till next year to find out how the cliff hanger pans out.  Want to say more but I will be reviewing  this in the next week or so and will hold off till then.


Daemon will do anything to get Katy back.

After the successful but disastrous raid on Mount Weather, he’s facing the impossible. Katy is gone. Taken. Everything becomes about finding her. Taking out anyone who stands in his way? Done. Burning down the whole world to save her? Gladly. Exposing his alien race to the world? With pleasure.

All Katy can do is survive.

Surrounded by enemies, the only way she can come out of this is to adapt. After all, there are sides of Daedalus that don’t seem entirely crazy, but the group’s goals are frightening and the truths they speak even more disturbing. Who are the real bad guys? Daedalus? Mankind? Or the Luxen?

Together, they can face anything. 

But the most dangerous foe has been there all along, and when the truths are exposed and the lies come crumbling down, which side will Daemon and Katy be standing on? 

And will they even be together?


This morning I started reading The Woken Gods by Gwenda Bond.  I received this via netgalley a while back and it came out on September 3rd so decided it was time to read it.  I love the idea and am interested to see where it goes. I am currently about a quarter of the way in and enjoying it so far.


The more things change…

Five years ago, the gods of ancient mythology awoke all around the world.

The more things stay the same…

This morning, Kyra Locke is late for school because of an argument with her father.

Seventeen-year-old Kyra lives in a transformed Washington, D.C., dominated by the embassies of divine pantheons and watched over by the mysterious Society of the Sun that governs mankind’s relations with the gods. But when rebellious Kyra encounters two trickster gods on her way home, one offering a threat and the other a warning, it turns out her life isn't what it seems. She escapes with the aid of Osborne "Oz" Spencer, a young Society field operative, only to discover that her scholar father has disappeared with a dangerous Egyptian relic. The Society needs the item back, and they aren’t interested in her protests that she knows nothing about it or her father's secrets.

Now Kyra must depend on her wits and the suspect help of scary Sumerian gods, her estranged oracle mother, and, of course, Oz--whose first allegiance is to the Society. She has no choice if she’s going to recover the missing relic and save her father. And if she doesn't? Well, that may just mean the end of the world as she knows it. From the author of Blackwood comes a fresh, thrilling urban fantasy that will appeal to fans of Neil Gaiman, Cassandra Clare, and Rick Riordan.

Not sure what I am going to read next.  Really need to sort out my TBR list in some semblance of a release order as currently it is somewhat out of control..  That's one of my projects for this week along with actually notching up some posts.

If you have made it down this far, don't forget to comment and let me know what you are reading at the moment and have a great week!



1 comment:

  1. Just finished a great fantasy book, "Quintessence" by David Walton:
    http://www.noendtobooks.com/book-reviews/fantastic-flat-earth-fantasy-quintessence-book-review/

    Now I am working on "An Army at Dawn"
    by Rick Atkinson (I love WWII books!).

    ReplyDelete