JellyPages.com

Monday, 16 September 2013

It's Monday! What are you reading?




So it is Monday again and time to talk about what I am reading this week. It's Monday!  What Are You Reading? is a weekly meme hosted by A Book Journey where we talk about the books that we are reading and have read this week.

Actually didn't get much reading done in the last week.  On the bright side did get a few posts on the blog and started to get my TBR list into some sort of order. Blog wise, the aim for this week is to write up the reviews for the books I have read in the last few weeks and start scheduling some review posts. 


I am still reading The Woken Gods by Gwenda Bond and enjoying it and I suspect I will probably finish it later today.


The more things change…

Five years ago, the gods of ancient mythology awoke all around the world.

The more things stay the same…

This morning, Kyra Locke is late for school because of an argument with her father.

Seventeen-year-old Kyra lives in a transformed Washington, D.C., dominated by the embassies of divine pantheons and watched over by the mysterious Society of the Sun that governs mankind’s relations with the gods. But when rebellious Kyra encounters two trickster gods on her way home, one offering a threat and the other a warning, it turns out her life isn't what it seems. She escapes with the aid of Osborne "Oz" Spencer, a young Society field operative, only to discover that her scholar father has disappeared with a dangerous Egyptian relic. The Society needs the item back, and they aren’t interested in her protests that she knows nothing about it or her father's secrets.

Now Kyra must depend on her wits and the suspect help of scary Sumerian gods, her estranged oracle mother, and, of course, Oz--whose first allegiance is to the Society. She has no choice if she’s going to recover the missing relic and save her father. And if she doesn't? Well, that may just mean the end of the world as she knows it. From the author of Blackwood comes a fresh, thrilling urban fantasy that will appeal to fans of Neil Gaiman, Cassandra Clare, and Rick Riordan.

Next up on the reading list is All the Truth That's In Me by Julie Berry and Witchstruck by Victoria Lamb. 




Four years ago, Judith and her best friend disappeared from their small town of Roswell Station. Two years ago, only Judith returned, permanently mutilated, reviled and ignored by those who were once her friends and family. Unable to speak, Judith lives like a ghost in her own home, silently pouring out her thoughts to the boy who’s owned her heart as long as she can remember—even if he doesn’t know it—her childhood friend, Lucas. But when Roswell Station is attacked, long-buried secrets come to light, and Judith is forced to choose: continue to live in silence, or recover her voice, even if it means changing her world, and the lives around her, forever. This startlingly original novel will shock and disturb you; it will fill you with Judith’s passion and longing; and its mysteries will keep you feverishly turning the pages until the very last.
Check it out on Goodreads | Order it from Book Depository


I was lucky enough to win an arc of All the Truth that's in me in a competition on Summer of Supernatural's Facebook page and Witchstruck I received from netgalley.  Both books are due to be released in the net 1-2 weeks 




Meg Lytton has always known of her dark and powerful gift. Raised a student of the old magick by her Aunt Jane, casting the circle to see visions of the future and concocting spells from herbs and bones has always been as natural to Meg as breathing. But there has never been a more dangerous time to practise the craft, for it is 1554, and the sentence for any woman branded a witch is hanging, or burning at the stake.

Sent to the ruined, isolated palace of Woodstock to serve the disgraced Elizabeth, daughter of Henry VIII and half-sister of Queen Mary, Meg discovers her skills are of interest to the outcast princess, who is desperate to know if she will ever claim the throne. But Meg's existence becomes more dangerous every day, with the constant threat of exposure by the ruthless witchfinder Marcus Dent, and the arrival of a young Spanish priest, Alejandro de Castillo, to whom Meg is irresistibly drawn - despite their very different attitudes to her secret.

Thrilling and fast-paced, this is the first unputdownable story in a bewitching new series.
Check it out on Goodreads | Order it from Book Depository

It's Monday! What are YOU reading?  Don't forget to let me know in the comments.

Have a great week!






1 comment:

  1. I hope you are enjoying your reads this week!

    Shelleyrae @ Book'd Out

    ReplyDelete